Author Archive
Read More

Sur les pas de Saint-Siméon le Stylite

Prestige N° 127-128, Déc-Janv. 2003-2004
A 32 km d’Alep. Une montagne. Un lieu de pèlerinage. Qal’at Simaan, la citadelle de Siméon. Le saint y a vécu 42 ans sur un pilier. On l’appellera le Stylite. Son ascèse fascinait. Sa foi mobilisait les foules. A sa mort, on a voulu rendre le plus riche hommage à celui qui avait fait vœu de pauvreté. Autour de ce pilier on a construit une grande église.

Read More
Read More
Read More

Scoop! Une épave retrouvée

Prestige Nº 111, Aout 2002
Les pêcheurs avaient l’habitude de lancer leurs filets au-dessus de cette zone particulièrement poissonneuse au large de Tripoli. Cela intrigua Walid Noshie, car les plongeurs le savent, les poissons sont attirés par les épaves. Walid décida donc de l’explorer avec son équipe de la NISD. Après quatre vaines tentatives, en raison de la mauvaise visibilité et des courants,

Read More

Le Vaisseau fant„††ôme de Batroun

Prestige N° 117, Février 2003
La mer préserve jalousement ses secrets, mais parfois elle consent à nous dévoiler une énigme. Ces bateaux qui y reposent ne sont pas que des épaves, chacune porte une histoire, un drame. En sont gardiens ces vieux pêcheurs qui ont tiré de la mer les leçons de la vie, qui y ont puisé leur sagesse. De cette épave que nous avons

Read More

Bosra Al Cham: La Capitale oubliée

Prestige N° 113, Octobre 2002
Ses pierres de basalte s’imbriquent en un témoignage saisissant de l’histoire de plusieurs civilisations. Citée sur les tablettes de Tell ­Amarna, correspondance entre les pharaons et les rois phéniciens. Seconde capitale des Nabatéens après Petra, siège du gouverneur romain du temps de Trajan, profondément arabe…

Read More

Saidoun La cité engloutie

Prestige N 118, Mars 2003
Il était une fois Saïdoun, une ïle-cité perdue, disparue dans les entrailles de la mer, une îIe qui nourrit tant de légendes et suscita toutes les convoitises; on finit par croire qu’elle n’existait que dans l’imagination des historiens phéniciens et grecs, jusqu’au jour …où un plongeur découvrit tout à fait par hasard, à un kilomètre au large de Saïda, les vestiges d’une ville.

Read More

Tortue de mer au Liban: Une leçon de survie

Prestige N°119, Avril 2003
Imaginez une histoire qui remonte à 100 millions d’années, l’histoire d’un animal qui a réussi là où les tout puissants dinosaures ont échoué: survivre, malgré tous les bouleversements climatiques. Aujourd’hui, une menace plus grande pèse sur la tortue, un danger qui n’était pas prévu par la Nature: la main destructrice de l’homme. Au Liban, on en parlait à peine, jusqu’au jour où une femme les rencontra, par

Read More

Au fil des découvertes

Prestige Nº 122, Juillet 2003
Des témoignages de père en fils. Des pêcheurs de ce village côtier parlent d’un avion touché en pleine Seconde ­Guerre mondiale et transformé en boule de feu, témoignages qui passent dans la légende jusqu’au jour où, plus d’un demi-siècle plus tard, en plongeant au large de la côte, on a trouvé une épave gisant par 12 mètres de fond. Mais quelle est donc l’identité de cet avion mystérieux?

Read More

Author Archive

In the footsteps of St. Simeon The Stylite

Prestige issue 127-128, Dec-Jan. 2003-2004
At 32 kms from Aleppo. A mountain. A place of pilgrimage. Qal’at Simaan, the citadel of Simeon. The saint lived there 42 years on a pillar. He was called the Stylite. His asceticism fascinated. His faith was mobilizing crowds. When he died, people wanted to make the richest tribute to the man who had made a vow of poverty. Around this pillar was built a large church.

Read More
Read More

Spectacular Glimpse

Prestige Nº 252-253, Juillet-Aout 2014 The soft lighting of the room lamps charms the mood

when gorgeous Italian Made dresses,

with a sparkling young but premium style,

celebrate between the luxurious corners of the house.

A lascivious passion ignites the atmosphere

preparing for the Gala evening that…

Read More

Scoop! A wreck found

Prestige issue 111, August 2002
The fishermen were accustomed to cast their nets over this particular area of fish off Tripoli. This intrigued Walid Noshie because divers know, fish are attracted by wrecks. Walid therefore decided to explore it with his team of the NISD. After four failed attempts, due to poor visibility and currents, one day per 60 meters deep, an elongated shadow loomed before the astonished eyes of the divers.

Read More

The Ghost ship of Batroun

Prestige issue 117, February 2003
The sea jealously guards its secrets, but sometimes it consents to unveil a mystery. These boats buried there are not only wrecks, each carries a story, a drama. Old fishermen are their guards who took out of the sea lessons of life, who have drawn their wisdom there. Of the wreck we explored, we know one thing: a ship carrying

Read More

Bosra Al Cham: The forgotten Capital

Prestige issue 113, October 2002
Its basalt stones fit together in a vivid testimony of the history of several civilizations. Quoted on the tablets of Tell Amarna, correspondence between the pharaoh and the Phoenician kings. Second capital of the Nabateans after Petra, seat of the Roman governor of the time of Trajan, deeply Arab…

Read More

Saidoun The Sunken City

Prestige issue 118, March 2003
Once there was Saidoun, a lost city island, which disappeared into the depths of the sea, an island that created so many legends and raised envy; we end up believing that only it existed in the imagination of Phoenician and Greek historians, until … when a diver discovered quite by chance, one kilometer off Sidon, the remains of a city.

Read More

Sea turtle in Lebanon: a Lesson of Survival

Prestige issue 119, April 2003
Imagine a history dating back 100 million years, the story of an animal that has succeeded where the almighty dinosaurs failed: survive, despite climate changes. Today, a greater threat to the turtle, a danger that was not intended by nature: the destructive hand of man. In Lebanon, it was barely mentioned until the day when a woman met them by chance

Read More

On the edge of discoveries

Prestige issue 122, July 2003
Testimonials from father to son. Fishermen from this coastal village speak of a plane shot in the Second World War and turned into a ball of fire, evidence that pass into legend until, more than half a century later, diving off the coast, we found a wreck lying12meters deep. But what is the identity of this mysterious plane?

Read More

The Fascinating Universe of our Seabed

Prestige August 2003, issue 123
Our Mediterranean, which caresses the shores of Lebanon, hosts fauna and flora of incredible wealth. We do not realize it but as long as we indulge ourselves in the pleasures of diving, it is a whole world that is revealed to us and that we should think about protecting to save our ecosystem.

Read More